Subscribe to our Rss Feed Follow me on twitter

Have You Voted For The #MTNSAMA19 Record Of The Year

After an exciting seven weeks of voting for the 20 local music artists by thousands of fans across South Africa, the intense battle for the prominent MTN Record of the Year category will reach the penultimate stage when vote lines close on Thursday, 9th May at 12h00.This is in line to determine the final five (5) nominees that will contest the category during the live broadcast of the MTN SAMAs from Sun City Superbowl on Saturday, 11th May 2013.

The MTN Record of the Year is the only category in the MTN SAMAs where the winner is decided by the public through SMS votes. Twenty nominees were announced at the launch of the 2013 MTN SAMA Awards and fans have had since the 20th March 2013 to cast their vote for the best artists, duos or groups that dominated the airwaves in 2012. House band group MiCasa won the MTN Record of the Year in 2012 for their debut album titled These Streets.

The twenty (20) nominees have been allocated a letter ranging from “A” to “T” and the public can vote by sending an SMS with the letter assigned to their favourite artist to 083 123 SAMA(7262) at standard SMS rates, voting lines closing on the 9th of May.

The final five (5) nominees will then be determined after the voting lines have been closed. To determine the overall winner, voting lines will be re-opened on the 10th May at 08h00 and will close during the live broadcast of the MTN SAMAs at 22h00. The ultimate MTN Record of the Year winner will be announced on Saturday 11th May.

“As MTN celebrates a milestone of being part of the biggest music and entertainment event in the South African calendar, we are thrilled to be sponsoring the popular MTN Record of the Year again which has grown in popularity over the years.  We’ve seen some great artists in the form of the late Brenda Fassie, Mzekezeke and Professor just to name three in recent years, walk away with the golden statuette in this category and we urge the public to continue voting this week if they want to see their favourite musician walk with this accolade,” said Serame Taukobong, the Chief Marketing Officer at MTN SA.

Every vote counts and could make the crucial difference in who walks away with the MTN SAMA Record of the Year Award. Fans can SMS up to a maximum of 10 times per mobile number.

The nominated artists for MTN Record of the Year are as follows:

Letter Artist Track
A B.O.P Wa Muhle
B Black Motion Father To Be
C Chiano-Sky Walking Away
D DJ Vetkuk Vs Mahoota Stokvel
E DJ Zinhle My Name Is
F Donald I Deserve
G Elvis Blue Lifeline
H HHP Bosso
I Kabomo Colour of You
J Khaya Move
K Liquideep Still
L Lloyd Cele Hero
M Mi Casa Heavenly Sent
N Oskido Tsa Mandebele
O Riot Thetha Nami
P Sfiso Ncwane Kulungile Baba
Q Teargas Wake Up
R Toya Delazy Love Is In The Air
S Zahara Umthwalo
T Zonke Feelings

South African Editor for
An educated individual who inspires young minds and still enriches her own
For invites, reviews and press releases email

Duduzile Chiloane – who has written posts on Farai Today.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!