Subscribe to our Rss Feed Follow me on twitter

Chad le Clos take stop honours at the South African Sports Awards!!

Filed under : Africa, Entertainment, Sports

It was a night that truly honoured our Sporting Greats, up-and-coming talent and the federations, schools and administrators that turn our youth into future sports stars. “Our sporting heroes are our Nation’s pride,” remarked Minister Fikile Mbalula, Minister of Sports and Recreation.

 “They continually represent our country at an extremely high level, and our some of our best ambassadors. Tonight at the SA Sports Awards we honoured all the Sports Stars big and small the way they deserve to be honoured, as stars.”

The awards provided the perfect platform to showcase our sportsmen and women, as well as performers. The hall was abuzz as Chad le Clos was announced as Sports Star of the Year as voted for by the South African public.

“Chad has not only won the heart of South Africans, but millions around the globe. His achievements at the Olympics have ascended him onto the world stage,” remarked Minister Mbalula.


Below includes a full list of the winners for the night:

Sports Star of the Year:        Chad le Clos – Swimming South Africa

Sportsman of the Year:         Vernon Philander – Cricket South Africa

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability:    Oscar Pistorius – Athletics South Africa

Sportswoman of the Year:    Caster Semenya – Athletics South Africa

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: Natalie du Toit – Swimming South Africa

Team of the Year:      Rowing           

Administrator of the Year:  Wimpie du Plessis – Rowing South Africa

Newcomer of the Year:         Siyamthanda Kolisi – Rugby South Africa

Coach of the Year:                 Joseph Mkhonza – Banyana Banyana

Indigenous Games of the Year:        Team KZN – KZN Indigenous Games Council

Federation of the Year:         Rowing South Africa

Journalist of the Year:           Velile Mbuli – SABC

Photographer of the Year:   Sydney Seshibedi – The Star

School Team of the Year:      Ithembelihle Comprehensive School – SA Rugby

Developing School Team of the Year:         Nkunzimbini Junior Secondary School – African Football Championship

Best Recreation Body of the Year: Vhakhegula Vhakhegula – Limpopo Grannies in Football

Volunteer of the Year: Sondiso Magajana – Judo South Africa

South African Editor for
An educated individual who inspires young minds and still enriches her own
For invites, reviews and press releases email

Duduzile Chiloane – who has written posts on Farai Today.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!