Subscribe to our Rss Feed Follow me on twitter


Filed under : Africa, Sports

Click FaraiToday to follow us on



Join FaraiToday on Facebook!


Thulani Serero

The 2010/2011 PSL Awards just wrapped up the 2010/2011 PSL season by honouring the best players, coaches and team of the season. One young man who shone from all the rest is Thulani Serero. The 21 year old soon to be former Ajax Cape Town player walked away with a whopping R600 000 in cash prize money along with each accolade that also included the biggest award of the evening, the PSL footballer of the year award.

“The 21-year-old striker’s awards included Footballer of the Year Award, the Premiership Player of the Season, Premiership Players Player of the Season as well as the Red Hot Young Player of the Season awards.”

The other main awards saw Moroka Swallows’ Siyabonga Nomvethe grabbing the MTN8 Player of the Tournament Award, Knowledge Musona taking the Telkom Knockout Player of the tournament, while Andile Jali was crowned the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

Outgoing PSL CEO, Kjetil Siem, bid farewell to the South African football.

“The League has done extremely well in the season following the World Cup and the players have certainly raised the bar and the standard of play. We need to build on this and grow the PSL into a more competitive league on the field and a stronger brand off it,” said Siem.

Hosts Carol Manana & Thomas Mlambo


Full list of winners:

PSL Footballer of the Year – Thulani Serero – R250 000
NFD Inland Stream Top Goal Scorer – Rodney Ramagalela – R25 000
NFD Coastal Stream Top Goal Scorer – Atusaye Nyondo – R25 000
Referee of the Season – Daniel Bennett – R50 000
Assistant Referee of the Season – Zakhele Siwela – R40 000
Absa Premiership Player of the Season – Thulani Serero – R150 000
Absa Premiership Coach of the Season – Ruud Krol – R75 000
Absa Premiership Players Player of the Season – Thulani Serero – R150 000
Absa Premiership Red Hot Young Player – Thulani Serero – R150 000
Absa-lutely awesome goal of the season – Tlou Segolela – R50 000
Absa Premiership goalkeeper of the Season – Patrick Tignyemb – R50 000
Absa Premiership Top Goal Scorer – Knowledge Musona – R25 000
Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament – Knowledge Musona – R200 000
MTN8 Player of the Tournament – Siyabonga Nomvethe – R150 000 Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament – Andile Jali – R100 000
Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament – Tlou Segolela – R25 000
Chairman’s Award – Lucky Lekgwathi – R100 000



From your girl Allegro Dinkwanyane- “I’m just saying”, so have your say…



What did you think of the awards? 


I’m a passionate writer, who enjoys writing and informing people as well as learning new things. I love sports, the arts and music. I am a sports presenter of UJfm 95.4 as well as other things. Simply put, I am a dynamic young lady who wants to bring about chnage and have an impact in both the media industry and in people’s lives.

Allegro – who has written posts on Farai Today.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
  • Djbepro

    jali should have wone the player of the season award, and serero the players player of the season. jali was better than serero, full stop.

  • Lphonk

    if he was better he should have won, ful stop.

  • Sherz

    i love the awards, the presenters were stunning and the whole ceremony was rily touching