Subscribe to our Rss Feed Follow me on twitter


Filed under : Africa, Entertainment, Music

Click FaraiToday to follow us on



Join FaraiToday on Facebook!


The 17th Annual South African Music Awards took place on the 20th and 21st May and as you may have already gathered I’m still recovering from the “happenings” of last night at Monte Casino. Details and pics from last nights edition will follow soon but for now though, here are the winners!!!

On the yellow carpet…

Zizo Beda and I were both styled by celebrity stylist Lindani Ndwandwa :-)

With Zizo and SAMA Nominee Nothende, who was dressed by David Tlale

On the yellow carpet being interviewed by Minnie Dlamini for SABC 1’s Real Goboza (RGB)


1. Best African Traditional Gospel Album: Sechaba – Thank You

2. Best Contemporary Jazz Album: Ological Studies – OS Freedom

3. Best Maskandi Album: Bhekumuzi Luthuli – Imali Yabelungu

4. Best Sokkie Dans Album: Kurt Darren – Die Beste Medisyne

5. Best Pop Album English: Jax Panik – I am Jax Panik

6. Best Urban Dance Album: DJ Kent – I can’t survive

7. Best Urban Pop Album: Kwela Tebza – Gauteng Made In South Africa / Mzansi

8. Best Pop Album Afrikaans: Juanita du Plessis – Engel Van My Heart

9. Best Pop Album African: Theo Kgosinkwe – Grateful

10. Best Rock Album English: Prime Circle – Jekyll & Hyde

11. Best Kwaito Album: Professor – University of Kalawa Jazmee

12. Best Rap Album: Amu – The Principal

13. MTN Best Selling Mobile Music Download: DJ Cleo & DJ Mzi

14. Music Video of the Year: The Parlotones – The Stars Fall Down

15. Best Selling Album: Locnville – Sun in my Pocket

16. Newcomer of the year: Locnville – Sun in my Pocket

17. Duo / Group of the Year: Liquideep – Fabrics of the Heart

18. International Achievement Award: Die Antwoord

19. Lifetime Achievement Award: Sipho Gumede and Lance James

20. Female Artist of the Year: Thandiswa Mazwai – The Forgotten Free (Live in concert)

21. Male Artist of the Year: Professor – University of Kalawa Jazmee

22. MTN Record of the Year: Professor – Imoto

23. Album of the Year: Liquideep – Fabrics of the Heart

Below are the winners from the Friday night gala…*yawn*

Award 1: Best Traditional Jazz Album – Tutu Puoane – Mama Africa
Award 2: Best Instrumental Album – Wouter Kellerman – Two Voices
Award 3: Best Popular Classical Album – Peter Martens & Luis Magalhaes – Beethoven Cello Sonatas
Award 4: Best Jazz/Instrumental/Popular Classic DVD – SterlingEQ – Live in concert at the Artscape Opera House, Cape Town
Award 5: Best R&B/Neo-Soul Album – Leanne – The Journey
Award 6: Best Urban Gospel Album – Patrick Duncan – Worship in Colour
Award 7: Best Urban DVD – Thandiswa – Dance of the Forgotten Free
Award 8: Best Reggae Album – Jah Seed – No Retrest No Surrender
Award 9: Best Producer – Leanne – The Journey
Award 10: Best Engineer – Freshlyground – Radio Africa
Award 11: Best Album Packaging – Versus the Wolf – Uncovering Faces
Award 12: Remix of the Year – Stimela – Turn on the Sun
Award 13: Best Adult Contemporary Album – Steve Hofmeyr – Duisend en Een
Award 14: Best Rock Album: Afrikaans – Van Coke Kartel – Skop, Skiet en Donner
Award 15: Best Country Music Album – Manie Jackson – Manie Jackson
Award 16: Best Afrikaans Gospel Music Album – Willie Joubert – Ek Wil Jubel
Award 17: Best Afrikaans Traditional Music Album – Mooiplaas Boere Orkes – Boere –  Lekkerkry
Award 18: Best Afrikaans DVD – Romanz – Treffers Live
Award 19: Best Alternative Music Album: Afrikaans – Bittereinder – n’ Ware Verhaal
Award 20: Best Kiddies Album: Afrikaans – Alta Joubert and Minkie Burger – Lollos 2 – Bons Dat Dit Gons
Award 21: Best Adult Contemporary Album: English – Freshlyground – Radio Africa
Award 22: Best Alternative Music Album: English – Yoav – A Foolproof Escape Plan
Award 23: Best Contemporary Christian Music Album – CRC Radiation – With All My Heart
Award 24: Best Global Chart DVD – The Parlotones – Live Design
Award 25: Best Kiddies Album: English – African Treehouse – African Numbers
Award 26: Best Global Dance Album – Goldfish – Get Busy Living
Award 27: Best Multi-Artist Live DVD – Huisgenoot Skouspel 2010 - Huisgenoot Skouspel 2010
Award 28: Best-selling True-Tone – DJ Mzi and DJ Cleo – Nababantwana
Award 29: Best-selling DVD – The Parlotones – Live Design
Award 30: Best South Sotho Music Album (SeSotho) – Morusu – Morusu Vol. 2
Award 31: Best Tsongo Music (XiTsonga) Album – Thomas Chauke – Shimatsatsa No. 30
Award 32: Best Venda Music (TshiVenda) Album – Zozo Sangere Super Beat – Tshelede
Award 33: Best Alternative Music Album: African – Nomsa Mazwai – Nomisupa
Award 34: Best Mbaqanga Album – Soul Brothers – Thul’ Ubheke
Award 35: Best Adult Contemporary Album: African – Stimela – A Lifetime
Award 36: Best African Contemporary Gospel Album – Mthunzi Namba – Mercy Live in Durban
Award 37: Best Traditional African Acapella Gospel Album – Amadodana Ase Wesile – Ke Dumetse Ho Morena
Award 38: Best Traditional/African Adult Contemporary African DVD – Stimela – Live in Concert: 30 Years

I’ll have more to say tomorrow, for now lemme rest my feet #DeathByMontePaving…

From your girl Allegro Dinkwanyane- “I’m just saying”, so have your say”…


What are your thoughts of the winners?

I’m a passionate writer, who enjoys writing and informing people as well as learning new things. I love sports, the arts and music. I am a sports presenter of UJfm 95.4 as well as other things. Simply put, I am a dynamic young lady who wants to bring about chnage and have an impact in both the media industry and in people’s lives.

Allegro – who has written posts on Farai Today.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!