Subscribe to our Rss Feed Follow me on twitter

“And The Winner Is…”: Our Take on the 16th annual MTN South African Music Awards (SAMA’s)

Filed under : Africa, Entertainment, Music

Click FaraiToday to follow us on Twitter!

Join FaraiToday on FaceBook!


The 16th annual MTN South African Music Awards (SAMA’s) will once again be hosted in Sun City at the Sun City Super bowl on April 17th.

The SAMA’s are without a doubt the biggest music awards in South Africa. Honoring our most talented artists in the industry, the SAMA’s promise to be a night of sheer entertainment.

In our first post on the SAMA‘s & 2010 nominees, we asked you our readers your thoughts on which artists would win & in what category. Thanks peeps for your responses, feedback & thoughts on the upcoming SAMA’s. So we decided to give you our thoughts, our predictions on how the SAMA night will go down…only fair, right?!?!

Here goes…

Album of the Year

Big Nuz for Undisputed

BLK JKS for the album After Robots

Busi Mhlongo for Amakholwa Believers

Selaelo Selota for Lapeng Laka

Teargas for Dark Or Blue

Not sure who should take this one. Big Nuz (and yes it’s a trio and not one person folks *smile*) were big in 2009, with “Umlilo” literally blazin’ off at every corner of South Africa. However, they do have some tough competition from Teargas who do not seem to be fading away from the music scene anytime soon.

Big Nuz

Duo or Group of the Year

AKING for Against All Odds

Big Nuz for the album Undisputed

Jaziel Brothers for The Journey

Joyous Celebration for Volume 13 Live At The Mosaiek Theatre, Johannesburg

Teargas for Dark Or Blue

I personally think AKing will scoop this one , but let’s wait for the drumroll…

With Teargas

Female Artist of the Year

Busi Mhlongo for Amakholwa Believers

Camagwini for Emandulo

Lira for Live In Concert: A Celebration

Louise Carver for The Home Tour – Live

Thandiswa Mazwai for Ibokwe

This is a tough category, because all the ladies nominated here all deserve to win. Lira had a strong year and Thandiswa is a stronger contender here too…

With Thandiswa Mazwai

Male Artist of the Year

Benjamin Dube for 16 June Commemoration Live

Black Coffee for Home Brewed

Chris Chameleon for Kyk Hoe Lyk Ons Nou

Ntando for Inqubela

Selaelo Selota for Lapeng Laka

I’d put my money on Ntando for making a comeback but then again, Selaelo Selota still has consistency and Black Coffee never disappoints when it comes to house….Benjamin Dube and Chris Chameleon are just awesome. It’s gonna be a tough one.

Newcomer of the Year

Culoe de Song for A Giant Leap

Kyle Shepherd for Fine ART

Solly Mahlangu for the album Obrigado

The South African Youth Choir for the album Birth of the Sun

Tshepo Mngoma for People And Places

Culoe de Song should walk away with this one!

Best Rock Album: English
aKING – Against All Odds
Cassette – Who Do You Trust

New Holland – Exploded Views
The Parlotones – Stardust Galaxies
Voodoo Child – Attack. Don’t Panic

Another category that I’m torn apart in, but it would be nice to see The Parlotones take this one home ahead of their 2010 World Cup Inaugural Concert performance at Orlando stadium  the 10th of June.

Remix Of The Year
DJ Nutty Nys for K’zogo K’zogozogo (Summer Anthem) – Nutty Nys Remix by Deep Level
Protoculture  for Cruising Through – Protoculture Mix by Goldfish
Black Coffee for This Is How It Goes – Black Coffee Remix by  Goldfish
Bongani Fassie Partytime by Jozi
DJ Hypnosis  for 2 By 2 by Rhythmic Elements

This is an easy one…(or not!) Bongani Fassie (son of the late iconic & legendary Brenda Fassie) is a pretty good producer but then again all the nominees in this category produced hits! Tough one this…

Best Kwaito Album
Big Nuz – Undisputed
Mzambiya – Still I Rise
Spikiri – Taking A Walk On The Wild Side
TKZee – Coming Home

Zola – Impepho

They say Kwaito is dead but these artists have proven that Kwaito has evolved. If TKZee can make a comeback & scoop in this category, then Kwaito can definitely rise from the dead.

Best Rap Album
HHP – Dumela
JR – Colourfull
Khuli Chana – The MotswakOriginator
Teargas – Dark Or Blue
Tumi – Whole Worlds

How can you have a Rap category and not nominate Mr “Dankie San” Pro? I’m actually a bit disappointed in this category but let’s deal with what we have. Tumi is one super talented rapper, HHP just doesn’t quit..because he is creative and deserves some RESPECT (no pun intended), Teargas are hopefuls in this category, I’m still not sure about Khuli Chana and JR just coloured the streets of SA with this offering which brought forth the hit “Show dem”. “show dem JR, show dem”.

And the biggest award of the night comes from this category: MTN Record of the Year

Change the World – Master Jam (w/ RJ Benjamin)

Consider Me – Prime Circle

Fairytale – Liquideep

Fort Knox – Goldfish

Free – Thembi Seete

Good Music – DJ Cleo

Heartbreak Street – Jesse Clegg

I Believe – Oskido

Ingoma – Thandiswa featuring Hugh Masekela

Juju – Black Coffee featuring Zakes Bantwini

Lesson Number 1 – Rhythmic Elements

Live my Life – Winnie Khumalo

Maybe – Loyiso

Mmatswale- Malaika

Mpitse – HHP

Nka Mo Dira – Nutty Nys (w/ Abe Molamu)

Nomalanga Mntakwethu – Zuluboy

Push me to the Floor – The Parlotones

Umlilo – Big Nuz featuring Tira

We Baba – Culoe De Song featuring Busi Mhlongo

This a huge one and one must agree it is one of the toughest categories judging by the number of nominees. How do you go with one.

Zuluboy kept it “100” as in kept it real! The Parlotones are on another level. Nutty Nyc was just too nice. HHP like I said before deserves RESPECT. Winnie and Malaika are hanging in there. “Free” from Thembi Seete (Former member of Boom Shaka) is a nice tune. “Change the world” by RJ Benjamin has had its fair chance, the same applies for Rythmic Elements and Loyiso. Big Nuz were rocking comfortably before Liquideep came in from nowhere to disturb their peace. All the nominees made it big somewhere in 2009 but if push comes to shove, it really is a battle between Liquideep’s “Fairytale” and “Umlilo” by Big Nuz, unless of course the 2009 winners of this category Rythmic Elements can teach their fellow nominees a lesson or two.

Well those are just some of the nominees of the 16th annual MTN SAMA awards. Let’s hope the artists and audience will be treated to the Awards’ Super Sixteen birthday special. See ya on the Yellow carpet….

Are we on the money with our predictions or what?!?!? Please leave your comments below & muchas gracias amigos!

Muah & ♥ ya for it!

farai – who has written posts on Farai Today.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
  • Zig

    I cant believe the City Bowled Mizers and Lockinville are not there! :-( i wont even wavi the awards, thats how upset i am.

  • Donald

    You know man… Fairy tale is gonna grab all them awards…

  • Allegro D

    @ Zig, I know Locnville are awesome and the City Bowled Mizers are electrifying…dnt knw why there are not there

  • Allegro D

    @ Donald…can I be your Fairytale. Let’s wait and c if Liquideep will walk away with it